top of page

Charter Members


Marguerette Creth Jackson

Varese J. Bonilla

Louise Augustus Dennis

Doris Davis

Shirley Mae Cooke

Lolette Jenine Clarke

Leota Powell Brown

Wilhelmina Williams

Julia Scott Watson

Margielee Turner Thompson

Mozelle Laurelia Snyder

Gloria Meade Smith

Mary L. Smith

Mary L. Reives

Theodosia Louise Randolph

Dana Mae Lopez

Virginia Wright Johnson

Stella T. Howell

Alicia Esmeralda Brown

Marjorie Geraldine Bradley

Gertrude Elaine Baker

Beatrice Johnson Gray

Beulah MacDalen Joel

Mantia Sinton Harper

Lucille Gobern Turner

Cornelia Hogans Plunkett

Ethel Mae Mitchell

Geneviene Mckinney

Vibian Louise Thorne


Theta Chi Chapter

Theta Chi Chapter, Inc. was the 31st Graduate Chapter of Chi Eta Phi Sorority, Inc. to be organized at the home of Marguerite Creth Jackson in East Elmhurst, New York.  It was chartered on Saturday May 22, 1965.  At that time Theta Chi Chapter encomposed the geographical areas of Brooklyn, Queens, Nassau, and Suffolk counties. Our members are a group of Registered Professional Nurses who have committed themselves to "Service for Humanity".  Our primary focus remains in giving direct mentorship to nursing students and scholarship assistance.  Theta Chi works closely with various professional, civic, and cultural groups by giving a wide range of services such as health fairs, screening programs, and health related educational and client centered workshops.


Theta Chi Chapter was the first chapter to welcome a male nurse into membership in 1977.


Theta Chi Chapter is also the first chapter in Chi Eta Phi Sorority to purchase a chapter sorority house in October 1996.  The house serves as Theta Chi chapter headquarters and as a multi-purpose center dedicated to "Service for Humanity".


Theta Chi Chapter is proud to be the home chapter of two past national presidents of Chi Eta Phi Sorority, Inc., Leota P. Brown and her daughter Dana Lopez. (shown below)

bottom of page